Saying Goodbye to My Daughter…a new journey for both of us

My daughter and I right before she headed out for Seattle

My daughter and I right before she headed out for Seattle

My last blog entry included journal pages about my 19 year old daughter preparing to move to Seattle (we live in Missouri) and my preparing for her to go. So, I thought I would share a bit more about this…another journal spread and some photos.

"She is Travel Ready" The day I created this my daughter, Emelie, was packing up all her belongings that she wanted to take in boxes for the long drive to Seattle, so that was clearly on my mind.

“She is Travel Ready” The day I created this my daughter, Emelie, was packing up all her belongings that she wanted to take in boxes for the long drive to Seattle, so that was clearly on my mind.

Emelie packing her boxes and bags

Emelie packing her boxes and bags

And now for the art journal pages….

 I created this page by covering it with acrylic deep yellow paint, then after it dryed I added acrylic grey with an old credit card. Then I used gesso to make an area for the boxes, which I drew with oil pastels and old text paper. "Travel-ready" I found in a magazine and I added the other lettering.

I created this page by covering it with acrylic deep yellow paint, then after it dryed I added acrylic grey with an old credit card. Then I used gesso to make an area for the boxes, which I drew with oil pastels and old text paper. “Travel-ready” I found in a magazine and I added the other lettering.

Vintage map paper covers the right page...our wonderful, beautiful and special Seattle and surrounding areas. I drew her grey SUV with marker and added a heart confetti piece I had left over. I added images of some love stamps from a magazine and wrote my thoughts in new black marker.

Vintage map paper covers the right page…our wonderful, beautiful and special Seattle and surrounding areas. I drew her grey SUV with marker and added a heart confetti piece I had left over. I added images of some love stamps from a magazine and wrote my thoughts in new black marker.

ShesTravelReady4
The day Emelie and her boyfriend Skylar left was one filled with tears of mine and my husband’s. Emelie and Skylar were mostly just very excited to get started on their journey. My dear husband made sure the SUV was packed just so…no blind spots for his precious daughter.
GuysPackingCar
I really didn’t want to spoil Em’s excitement, so I would go off by myself when the tears overflowed, then dry my eyes and join the crowd again. But, when it came time for the final goodbyes Tom and I couldn’t hold back. As hard as it was to watch her go, we know that she is ready. She has always been mature, but she has grown and matured so much in the last year she’s been working and living at home. And, thankfully she has her man to go on this adventure with…we know they will take good care of each other.
EmelieSkylarReadytoGo
After she got in the car and put her seatbelt on she started signing “I love you” over and over again. I think it finally hit her. I didn’t get pictures of that because I was too busy signing “I love you” back and crying.

Off they go....we love you both! Safe journeys and good times to you

Off they go….we love you both! Safe journeys and good times to you

About artsychicksw

please visit my about.me page at www.about.me/SaraWindsor
This entry was posted in Art, Art Journals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Saying Goodbye to My Daughter…a new journey for both of us

  1. Sara – beautiful, and it makes me cry for you. xok

  2. artsychicksw says:

    Thank you so much, dear Kim.

  3. craftymadre says:

    What a great way to commemorate your daughter leaving the nest. I have several years to go with my boy, but I’m already emotional just reading your story. I guess we can never be ready.

    • artsychicksw says:

      It was really helpful for me to art journal about her leaving…I did a couple of different two page spreads about it. The thing that it so hard is that she is so far away and we can’t really afford to pop to Seattle to see her periodically. But, it’s so great that she calls us just about every day…I think some of the “missing” is on her end too! And in the end, I just have to trust God that He will take care of her and know that she is on her own journey now. Thanks for visiting and leaving our thoughts. Peace to your heart, Sara

  4. Piarom says:

    Awwwhh so touching and I love your sweet journal page about letting her go…love the cute boxes 🙂 ♥ Conny
    http://piaromsartjournaling.blogspot.de

Leave a Reply

