Home…the Art Journal Journey monthly theme

Image

I recently ran across a blog called “Art Journal Journey” where every month they give you a word or theme to journal about. Then, if you like, you can link your post to their blog to share with everyone…last month 60 people shared their impressions of the theme! It’s really interesting to see everyone’s take on the same topic. I decided it would be great fun to participate so I checked out the theme for this month…home. A nice start for my new art journal.

Image

I really gave some thought and feeling to what “home” means to me. I recalled all the different places I’ve lived…a large home in the city as a child, a vintage boat then a floating house with my parents, a dorm room, an apartment with friends, a little house with my first husband…then a variety of places from a farm house to a large new home in Las Vegas while married to husband #1 and moving around way too much, an apartment with my two kids when the marriage didn’t work out, a house in wonderful Seattle with my soul mate and husband…a couple of other places including 5 months of camping with our three kids before settling in our own house/home where we currently live and have for 10 years now. Home isn’t really so much about where you live and in what kind of structure. Even living in my own home I have always called my parents place “home” too. I realized that home is “where you find the people you love”. It means other things to me as well, such as where you can be completely yourself and people love you always, where your soul is at peace.

Image

I found a few great vintage photos to use in my pages and used those as a starting point. I also used acrylic paint, a decorative paper napkin, some scrapbook papers, paint pens, vintage Bingo card and “H” divider card and a lovely antique calling card. I can’t say that it’s my favorite spread, but I do like it mostly. I’d like the background to be a little less messy looking, but sometimes home can be messy, I guess.

Image

What does “home” mean to you?

Peace to your hearts, Sara

About artsychicksw

please visit my about.me page at www.about.me/SaraWindsor
This entry was posted in Art, Art Journals, Inspiration & Quotes, Mixed Media Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Home…the Art Journal Journey monthly theme

  1. What a lovely post, Sara. Every word true. Home is not necessarily a place. Peace to you…

  2. That´s a wonderful spread Sara!
    Welcome to the ART JOURNAL JOURNEY monthly challenge!
    I am very happy to have you with us!

    xxx from Austria
    froebelsternchen
    Susi

    • artsychicksw says:

      Thank you so very much! I found Art Journal Journey at just the right time since I’m beginning my first art journal (since the ’90’s when I kept one for a couple of years, but it was very different than the current trends and techniques). I’m so pleased to be part of the monthly challenges and really enjoy seeing everyone’s different take on the same theme. Peace to your heart, Sara

  3. Sara – this is so beautiful. Wow I can not believe you have lived in so many places, it sounds fascinating and frightening to me. I’ve only lived in a handful of places. Home means love and security and comfort and snuggly furry babies and the smell of bacon cooking.
    I so enjoy seeing your work.
    xok

    • artsychicksw says:

      Kim,
      I appreciate your thoughts so much! Yes, I have lived in many “houses” along the way, even more than mentioned in the post! It did get really old after a while. We usually moved for very good reason, not just on a whim. Sometimes it was change of jobs taking us somewhere new, sometimes circumstances like the break up/make up/divorce in my first marriage which made me move three times in all, once the house we were renting sold, and finally the move back to my hometown to be near my parents ten years ago. So glad to have been in the same house and home for a while now. However, I sometimes think ‘why is our home so full and messy?’…well, we haven’t had the every two year move to clean us out! LOL
      Peace

  4. Claudia says:

    Wonderful pages!

  5. Karin says:

    Beautiful pages and i love the saying you used, it is so truth!
    groetjes karin

  6. Valerie-Jael says:

    Beautiful journal pages. How nice to be able to think of home as a place where love is! Valerie

    • artsychicksw says:

      Valerie, Yes, I have been blessed with home being full of love and respect. I realize that isn’t true for too many people in this world. As a psychotherapist for many years I was able to help a number of families make positive changes in their families…there is hope for change in willing families, thankfully. Bless you and Peace to your heart, Sara

  7. lenakoch says:

    Lovely pages here! I do like the vintage style elements – gorgeous pics!!! And reading the post about chaos – it is quit nice to let the stress out on a journal page, isn’t it? And a home may be full of everything – even stress or bad feelings some times – that is life!

    • artsychicksw says:

      Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment…I appreciate it so very much! I am a BIG vintage lover, as you might tell, so you will find these elements in my art and jewelry most often. Yes, it is great to let stress, or whatever feelings I might be having, out on a journal page. When I worked as a psychotherapist I found art therapy to be so helpful to my clients, and I have used it personally as well. So good especially when you can’t find the words. I hope to see you here more in the future and I will be visiting your blog (I think I already have?) Peace to your heart, Sara

  8. artsychicksw says:

    Sheldon, Thank you so much for checking out my shop and your thoughts on it. I’ve stopped blogging, at least for quite a while. I’ve just got so much else going on and haven’t been creating very much anyway. Maybe I will return to the blogging someday, after we get well settled in WA state. Can’t recall what I’ve shared w/ you about that….if you’ll let me know I can update you sometime. On CCs last post I gave an update about the moving sale, etc. Got to go for now…time for dinner. I miss you and will get back to catching up with you, CC and Laura when I can. Until then, know you are in my thoughts and wishes for good stuff. Take care, S.

  9. sheldonk2014 says:

    No pressure
    See you soon
    Sheldon

Leave a Reply

