A Bit of This and a Bit of That…

"Be Brave" A peek inside my new personal art journal

“Be Brave” A peek inside my new personal art journal

I am very happy to have begun creating in my new art journal. Those blank pages were just calling to me! I wanted to put something on the inside front cover and first page so that’s where I started.

"Belongs to..." The inside cover, left side. The color inspiration came from the gorgeous scrapbook paper at left that I quite adore. I used acrylic paints to complete the background. In looking at some art journal pages for inspiration and techniques I found an artist that used shields quite often in her pages. I really liked that idea for creating my "bookplate" so I sketched my shape, covered it with a few layers of gesso, outlined it with paint pen (I added a couple of colors to my small collection of paint pens), and wrote inside it. Wish I had planned out the available space a bit better, but oh, well. I need some new black pens as well, since mine are either completely kaput or have fading ink. I must confess that I ruin them by being terribly impatient...I just can't seem to wait until my background is completely dry, then the markers and pens get ruined by paint or gesso. I desperately need to learn some patience in this department...I have it in most other areas of my life so I should be able to do this!

“Belongs to…” The inside cover, left side. The color inspiration came from the gorgeous scrapbook paper at left that I quite adore. I used acrylic paints to complete the background. In looking at some art journal pages for inspiration and techniques I found an artist that used shields quite often in her pages. I really liked that idea for creating my “bookplate” so I sketched my shape, covered it with a few layers of gesso, outlined it with paint pen (I added a couple of colors to my small collection of paint pens), and wrote inside it. Wish I had planned out the available space a bit better, but oh, well. I need some new black pens as well, since mine are either completely kaput or have fading ink. I must confess that I ruin them by being terribly impatient…I just can’t seem to wait until my background is completely dry, then the markers and pens get ruined by paint or gesso, as happened here. I desperately need to learn some patience in this department…I have it in most other areas of my life so I should be able to do this! The final touch is the lovely lace I recently bought at a fair I attended…got two large handfuls for only two dollars!

"Create from your Soul" My big message to myself for the purpose and method for this journal. You know all about my business name being "the Creative Soul", but for those who don't know, I named it that because I believe my creative gift came from God and expresses itself straight from my soul and heart. Sometimes when learning something artistically new I have to remind myself to make sure it comes from my soul rather than just copying what I see as my inspiration. Perfect point is the lettering I used. I have pinned to my Pinterest different ways to write so I can learn to expand what is available to me. It would be easy to simply copy what I see, but I want to put my own mark on it, have it be what comes from me learning from an example. More about the techniques on this page in another photo

“Create from your Soul” My big message to myself for the purpose and method for this journal. You know all about my business name being “the Creative Soul”, but for those who don’t know, I named it that because I believe my creative gift came from God and expresses itself straight from my soul and heart. Sometimes when learning something artistically new I have to remind myself to make sure it comes from my soul rather than just copying what I see as my inspiration. Perfect point is the lettering I used. I have pinned to my Pinterest different ways to write so I can learn to expand what is available to me. It would be easy to simply copy what I see, but I want to put my own mark on it, have it be what comes from me learning from an example. More about the techniques on this page in another photo.

I had a happy accident on this page while creating the background...I didn't evenly spread the gesso over the page. It was a white page already, but I wanted to add a bit of texture with the gesso so away I went. When I went to paint over it with watercolor paint the place where I didn't get any or very little absorbed the watercolor to a dark hue, but the places with the gesso were lighter or almost white...I love it so much! This close up shot really shows the variation in hue. More about this page: The lettering was done in watercolor pencils, then I went over the "create" and "soul" with a wet brush. I love using the watercolor pencils because you can get detail with the beauty of watercolor. I added a couple of paper scraps at the bottom and vintage text along the left side. Finally, a note to myself about allowing imperfection.

I had a happy accident on this page while creating the background…I didn’t evenly spread the gesso over the page. It was a white page already, but I wanted to add a bit of texture with the gesso so away I went. When I went to paint over it with watercolor paint the place where I didn’t get any or very little absorbed the watercolor to a dark hue, but the places with the gesso were lighter or almost white…I love it so much! This close up shot really shows the variation in hue. More about this page: The lettering was done in watercolor pencils, then I went over the “create” and “soul” with a wet brush. I love using the watercolor pencils because you can get detail with the beauty of watercolor. I added a couple of paper scraps at the bottom and vintage text along the left side. Finally, a note to myself about allowing imperfection.

And here it is! Oh, forgot to say that I used acrylic paint at the top of the left page to make my "swoops", then outlined in white paint pen and added the dots. I do love the "swoops" (not sure what else to call them). Any thoughts from my readers?

And here it is! Oh, forgot to say that I used acrylic paint at the top of the left page to make my “swoops”, then outlined in white paint pen and added the dots. I do love the “swoops” (not sure what else to call them).
Any thoughts from my readers?

I have also made another couple of pages in my altered book, “All About Women”. I used the same background technique that I happened upon above using the gesso partially covering the page, then watercolor paint on top.

"A Woman's Heart"  As is par with this book the quote (on the right page) is what inspired these pages. It really touches my heart, probably because I found my someone and he reads me and loves me so well. If you can't read it here please scroll down to the close up below.

“A Woman’s Heart” As is par with this book the quote (on the right page) is what inspired these pages. It really touches my heart, probably because I found my someone and he reads me and loves me so well. If you can’t read it here please scroll down to the close up below.

The left hand page has the background with old pages partially covered with gesso then covered with dark purple watercolor. Another hue was added here where I used the very dark vintage paper...another nice surprise. The swoops and the heart were painted with acrylic paint then outlined (with a horribly disfigured tip of a...) black marker. Really need to get those new pens and markers! Ink stamped the words on the heart. The writing is a combination of new styles I am learning. I wrote them in pencil first, then outlined with a troubled, thin black pen. I used dark purple watercolor where I wanted it. Should have used the watercolor pencils here but I didn't think about it. I do love the lettering and mixed styles. I added a nice vintage postage stamp at the bottom which helps ties the two pages together.

The left hand page has the background with old pages partially covered with gesso then covered with dark purple watercolor. Another hue was added here where I used the very dark vintage paper…another nice surprise. The swoops and the heart were painted with acrylic paint then outlined (with a horribly disfigured tip of a…) black marker. Really need to get those new pens and markers! Ink stamped the words on the heart. The writing is a combination of new styles I am learning. I wrote them in pencil first, then outlined with a troubled, thin black pen. I used dark purple watercolor where I wanted it. Should have used the watercolor pencils here but I didn’t think about it. I do love the lettering and mixed styles. I added a nice vintage postage stamp at the bottom which helps ties the two pages together.

The right page with the opening tag...the tag was painted on both sides with acrylic paint; the white is gesso and my purple pen is working quite well, thank you. I attached the tag with matching washi tape; unfortunately it isn't having good staying power, but I'm not sure what I'll do about it at this point. A little acrylic heart graces the lower left of the page and more vintage stamps at the top.

The right page with the opening tag…the tag was painted on both sides with acrylic paint; the white is gesso and my purple pen is working quite well, thank you. I attached the tag with matching washi tape; unfortunately it isn’t having good staying power, but I’m not sure what I’ll do about it at this point. A little acrylic heart graces the lower left of the page and more vintage stamps at the top.

Pull the tag open to see a lovely old photo of a woman at the beach. Wish I looked that good in my swimming suit! I painted with dark purple watercolor around the border of the photo and love how the photo resisted part of it. Great surprises with experimentation these days! The back of the tag has a bit of wrapping paper and more washi tape.

Pull the tag open to see a lovely old photo of a woman at the beach. Wish I looked that good in my swimming suit! I painted with dark purple watercolor around the border of the photo and love how the photo resisted part of it. Great surprises with experimentation these days! The back of the tag has a bit of wrapping paper and more washi tape.

And just to show how much my “someone”, my wonderful husband, cares about what is written on my heart and knows how to read it, he wanted to see the completed pages (as he always wants to see my completed art and jewelry *swoon*) and said how much he loved what I did and the quote I chose. I told him that I was so blessed that he was my someone.

Peace to your hearts, Sara

About artsychicksw

please visit my about.me page at www.about.me/SaraWindsor
This entry was posted in Art, Art Journals, Inspiration & Quotes, Mixed Media Art, Vintage and Antique and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bit of This and a Bit of That…

  1. Sara – keep being true to your soul I love that brown floral paper, your color selection a great match. Vintage photo of the beach dweller, makes me smile too. It is all very nice.
    Best,
    xoxo
    Kim

  2. artsychicksw says:

    Kim, Thanks so much for your support and comments. Have you done anything with art journaling yet? I’m enjoying myself so much! I should share some of my “dark moments” art journaling with you from the ’90s. Very simplistic, but it was very helpful to me at the time to identify my feelings, what was going on in my messy head at the time, and promoting growth. I’ll try to remember to take some photos to share with you.

Leave a Reply

