A new batch of altered book pages from “All About Women”

The experimenting, learning and growing with mixed media and art journaling is still happening on a daily basis. I like to peruse Pinterest for images and videos about art journaling for inspiration and to learn new techniques. It’s been very helpful. Here is a link to my Art Journaling and Altered Book Board on Pinterest http://pinterest.com/artsychicksw/art-journaling-altered-books/

And here are the pages:

This one of my favorite spreads because the quote is hilarious and I am happy with how everything turned out. More details in the close up photos

This one of my favorite spreads because the quote is hilarious and I am happy with how everything turned out. More details in the close up photos

I used yellow watercolor for the base and added a bit of a postcard that I cut out and altered the mail in the image to fit the quote. Thankfully the quote fit...it's always a bit scary to start out not knowing.

I used yellow watercolor for the base and added a bit of a postcard that I cut out and altered the mail in the image to fit the quote. Thankfully the quote fit…it’s always a bit scary to start out not knowing.

The background here started with acrylic pink paint, but not much of it is left. The use of papers here is something I watched on a Pinterest/You Tube video. Various scrapbook paper layered in vertical strips the covered with gesso; then two other papers added top and bottom as borders. The vintage images all came from a 1952 Good Housekeeping magazine...all ads for lingerie. Added some yellow acrylic paint enhancement

The background here started with acrylic pink paint, but not much of it is left. The use of papers here is something I watched on a Pinterest/You Tube video. Various scrapbook paper layered in vertical strips the covered with gesso; then two other papers added top and bottom as borders. The vintage images all came from a 1952 Good Housekeeping magazine…all ads for lingerie. Added some yellow acrylic paint enhancement

"Motherhood" A no-brainer topic for this book and I adore the vintage photo in sepia tones. Lots of trial and error on these pages!

“Motherhood” A no-brainer topic for this book and I adore the vintage photo in sepia tones. Lots of trial and error on these pages!

Things I like about this page: the hearts on strings at the top, the background of various papers covered in watered down gesso along with the brown paint I used my finger to spread around to avoid brushmarks. It almost looks like leather and I love it. The mistake: the texture old handwriting paper covers up a wonderful quote I wanted to use. It just didn't look good and couldn't be read very well.

Things I like about this page: the hearts on strings at the top, the background of various papers covered in watered down gesso along with the brown paint I used my finger to spread around to avoid brushmarks. It almost looks like leather and I love it. The mistake: the texture old handwriting paper covers up a wonderful quote I wanted to use. It just didn’t look good and couldn’t be read very well.

Things I like about this page: the photo and the border I added along with the real Victorian scrap at the corner, the sheet music. What went awry: the quote at the bottom is the third try...just couldn't get the techniques I was using to look right so I covered it all up with the cardstock and just wrote the quote on it. Not too bad in the end.

Things I like about this page: the photo and the border I added along with the real Victorian scrap at the corner, the sheet music. What went awry: the quote at the bottom is the third try…just couldn’t get the techniques I was using to look right so I covered it all up with the cardstock and just wrote the quote on it.  Unfortunately the white gesso from the next page got on this one. Not too bad in the end.

"Sisters" Very happy with these pages

“Sisters” Very happy with these pages

I started by stamping the book page with a flower and some number stamps in purple...can't see much of them, but that's okay, just layering. Then I covered it with acrylic paint. Altered the carte de vista photo of the three women using acrylic paint then used a vintage blank calling card behind it (outlined in green ink pen). I then used acrylic paint to use the pattern on the left of the page. Added a stamp in green ink at the top.

I started by stamping the book page with a flower and some number stamps in purple…can’t see much of them, but that’s okay, just layering. Then I covered it with acrylic paint. Altered the carte de vista photo of the three women using acrylic paint then used a vintage blank calling card behind it (outlined in green ink pen). I then used acrylic paint to use the pattern on the left of the page. Added a stamp in green ink at the top.

Background of acrylic paint and vintage papers. Once again, a bit scary to start out on the quote not knowing if it will fit...I've been blessed they have worked out so far! Love the vintage floral card and vintage stamp.

Background of acrylic paint and vintage papers. Once again, a bit scary to start out on the quote not knowing if it will fit…I’ve been blessed they have worked out so far! Love the vintage floral card and vintage stamp.

So, what are your thoughts or suggestions on these pages? I gladly welcome any suggestions so that I may continue growing creatively.

Peace to your heart

About artsychicksw

please visit my about.me page at www.about.me/SaraWindsor
This entry was posted in Art, Art Journals, Inspiration & Quotes, Mixed Media Art, Vintage and Antique and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

