More altered book pages

Without further ado….

Image

“Adversity” I really love this quote and wanted to make sure it was included in my book. This is a very simple spread using scrapbook paper and a bit of vintage book text for a background, then acrylic paint in cream to provide a space for writing the quote. The right page is a lovely photo I’ve been hanging onto for just the right project…found it!

Image

“Adversity” A better view for reading the quote

Image

“Nobody” Another great quote because of the truth in it. I’m pretty much liking these two pages. More about each in the next two photos

Image

“Nobody” The background is red acrylic paint. Something I was experimenting with went wrong, but in the end it turned out to be something good. See the design behind the paint at the top right? I tried out a new paint pen in white, wanting to have the design in the foreground. But, the paint was way too runny and it bled into each other and pretty much looked awful. So, after it dried I painted over it with the red acrylic again, thinking to completely cover it. Turns out I really like the way it looks as a layer…something new learned! Also used on this page: gold ink and a crosshatch stamp, vintage magazine image of a woman, scrapbook paper, blue acrylic paint and black marker for the writing

Image

“Nobody” The right page has a fabulous image of a woman cut from a 1952 Good Housekeeping magazine when the style of the day was cinched waists. I added the polka dots to her skirt with acrylic paint. Behind her head is an antique calling card that is so charming with a brass floral swag across it.

Image

“Voice” I took a cue from nature and the bluebird with the blue and orange color palette. The quote is better read in the next photo. Though the background is simple I really like it (acrylic paint again). The orange dots are also paint and help tie the pages together. The green of the doodling and writing on the right page is Adirondack marker from Ranger in the color of “Pesto”. I have a few other colors of these markers that I found on sale and I love them. On the blue background the color looks brighter, but on plain white or cream it is darker live an olive.

Image

“Voice” The beautiful flowers are something I cut from a magazine page that I saved a few years ago and I think they stand out wonderfully against the blue.

Image

“Voice” Okay, I have to say that I adore this page, this whole spread. And I pushed myself to do something new with the free hand embroidery. I really wanted some different texture and thought this would be fun. The bird is a reproduction Victorian scrap and the sheet music is from a vintage hymnal. I’ve added my own encouraging words at the bottom of the page relating to the quote. What do you think?

If I can find something to use for my art journal I am going to begin on that as well. Since I have to cut out many original pages from the altered book as well as glue several together for each one finished page I am actually approaching the latter part of the book. I do have a few more pages complete and will share those soon, too. Peace to your hearts

About artsychicksw

please visit my about.me page at www.about.me/SaraWindsor
This entry was posted in Art, Art Journals, Inspiration & Quotes, Mixed Media Art, Vintage and Antique and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More altered book pages

  1. All the pages are quite wonderful but I am LOVING the one with the singing bird!! Love the colors, so beautiful!!!

  2. artsychicksw says:

    Thanks so much…that is one of my favorites, too. It just seemed to come together right all along the way.

Leave a Reply

