The First Bounty of the Supplies Swap

Last post I shared about swapping and friendship…much joy! After the supplies swap with  Central Coast Charms I just simply couldn’t wait to get started creating. The goodies were calling to me…especially that long vintage chandelier crystal shown toward the top of the photo below

coastalGoodies1

I knew I wanted to use a photo on the backside so the crystal worked as a kind of frame. I searched through my many precious vintage photographs to find just the right one…a child in a garden with an armful of flowers. Of course the photo was black and white, but I wanted a bit of color so I got out a couple of really nice watercolors in bottles that I kind of stole from my daughter and went to work. It turned out just as I had hoped it would:

FromtheGardenStart2

Isn’t she sweet with her unique little hat and that smile? So, given the colors of the watercolors I then got out all the purple and teal I could find, plus some metal charms, etc

FromtheGardenStart1

And I started playing, creating, making links and putting everything together. Some things worked and some things didn’t. I decided not to use the link I made at the right top corner of the pendant that had the purple filigree bead, a rhinestone rondelle and a lavender triangular bead. I was going to use it to hang the pendant from but decided to use a collection of Czech glass flower beads instead…good decision in my opinion! So, here is the finished piece:

FomtheGarden1

So, in looking for some really special vintage pieces to include I looked through my vintage keys and found a lovely brass clock key. It’s hard to find actual brass keys and I love the simple details in this one. I wanted to use it in a different way than I usually design with keys (which is to hang them straight down with some beads or charms hanging off them). I decided to incorporate it into the chain and wire wrap the barrel with tiny glass seed beads. What do think? I always appreciate any feedback you have to offer, so please feel free to leave a comment.

FomtheGarden4

The other really special vintage piece I added was a lovely 12K gold heart charm with the  name “Claudia” engraved on the front and a date in the ’50s on the reverse. So, our little girl with the flowers has a name…Claudia (which happens to be a version of my grandfather’s name, Claude; he was an honorable and loving man who I miss still)

FomtheGarden5

The reverse side of the long crystal even got some attention by being covered with a lovely patterned paper from the inside covers of a vintage book. The colors coordinate with the garden theme…

FomtheGarden9

If you would like to read about all the components used please visit my etsy shop listing for this necklace…gemstones, vintage crystal, glass beads, rhinestone, etc. I used many items from the swap with Laura from Central Coast Charms…the lovely turbine shaped beads in light teal and purple, rhinestone beads and rondelles and more.

FomtheGarden6 FomtheGarden3 FomtheGarden7

Thanks to all of you who are following along on my creative journey…I appreciate you all. Peace to your hearts…Sara

About artsychicksw

please visit my about.me page at www.about.me/SaraWindsor
This entry was posted in Art, Handmade Jewelry, Jewelry, Mixed Media Art, Vintage and Antique and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The First Bounty of the Supplies Swap

  1. Jana says:

    The necklace is stunning, Sara… I especially love how you used the brass clock key, it is great!! Love it!

  2. Sara,
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the necklace!!! Especially what you’ve done with the crystal and the key. Using the key sideways instead of hanging down like most people would do is absolutely brilliant!! You truly are a Creative Soul. 🙂
    Laura

  3. artsychicksw says:

    Laura,
    Thanks so much! I am having so much fun with all the wonderful items you sent to me. Can hardly wait to see what you make out of what I sent you, but being patient because I know you are one busy lady!

  4. Winter Owls says:

    This is really, really lovely Sara; so much to look at in the chain which then flows down to the lovely pendant…

  5. artsychicksw says:

    Thank you, Winter Owls!

Leave a Reply

