Iris Apfel…an amazing woman and style icon

Maybe you have heard of Iris Apfel? Unbelievably, I had not until today. She is a renowned interior designer and textile manufacturer, is a long standing fashion icon with an eclectic style, and in my own opinion the queen of accessorizing with grand jewelry…some of which is by her own hand. Oh, and she also wears these enormous glasses that seem only right on her.

All Iris Apfel...check out those boots!

All Iris Apfel…check out those boots!

 In her younger years Iris didn’t wear such bold jewelry but she has always been a fashion maven with her own style. She has warehouses where she keeps her clothing from years past and has been the subject of more than one museum collection with mannequins displaying her eclectic outfits.  It’s really her attitude towards life and her perspective that leads to her great style, in my opinion. I’d love to have the opportunity to meet her, not to see or discuss her clothing and jewelry, but to get to know her. Here is a photo of her from the late 1960’s in Tunisia:

Always looking great

Always looking great

Iris credits her mother with the idea of styling with accessories:

“My mother worshiped at the alter of accessories and I got the bug. She always said, if you have a good, little, simple black dress and you have different accessories, you can have 27 different outfits”

And isn’t her mother right, after all? Let’s say five of us are wearing the same outfit…it’s the things we choose to add to that outfit that truly express who we are and what our style is. Most of us cannot afford to have a one of a kind outfit created for us. Yet, most of us can afford to accessorize with a one of a kind piece of jewelry. It may not be diamonds or precious gems but it can certainly tell the world something about us. And more importantly, make us feel like our own person, special unto ourselves and full of value. Which each of us undoubtedly is!

Here Iris is wearing a lovely, simple dress and made herself a standout with a magnificent necklace

Here Iris is wearing a lovely, simple dress and made herself a standout with a magnificent necklace

As for myself, I’m going to take a page from Iris’ style book and thoughtfully wear more than one necklace or bracelet at a time. I’m not quite as bold as she is, but I am more bold and creative than what I usually put forth with my style.

If you would like to browse some affordable one of a kind pieces of jewelry please visit etsy.com where some amazing artisans create all kinds of unique jewelry. My own shop can be found here the Creative Soul and some of my favorite artisans are:

Fanciful Devices

Mamas Little Babies

The French Circus

Robin Wade

OOAK Jewelz

Paula Montgomery

Rosaritaville

French Sentiments

Sparrow Salvage

Vintage Arts

Tuscan Rose

Temi

Tribalis

Altered Alchemy

Ferd and Bird

My Starrrs

Christine Wallace

Kay Adams

Riverpath Studio

Designs by June Bug (a new favorite)

Shipwreck Dandy

Retreaux Girl (another new fav)

Mollie Carey (another new fav)

Okay, I’ve given you tons of goodies to look at…but I could have gone on and on. Their are other jewelry artists that I adore, but they they offer the same designs more than once. And there are more that I adore but are of a very similar style to those I’ve mentioned and I didn’t want to do too much of that unless they were one of my top favorites. And, these are only the jewelry artists that are on etsy because there are many more I love that have their own websites…perhaps I’ll post again sometimes with some of these other artists.

More Iris Apfel to enjoy:

Iris-Apfel-001 Iris+Apfel+2012+YMA+Fashion+Scholarship+Fund+qaGLfEc4Pf6l

Love the red glasses, too

Love the red glasses, too

I think Iris looks so much better than her younger friend

I think Iris looks so much better than her younger friend

Fashion icon Iris Apfel at her home in New York, July 27, 2011. Apfel, who has a wardrobe so large it is kept in a warehouse, will soon be selling her designs on the Home Shopping Network. (Chester Higgins Jr./The New York Times)

Fashion icon Iris Apfel at her home in New York, July 27, 2011. Apfel, who has a wardrobe so large it is kept in a warehouse, will soon be selling her designs on the Home Shopping Network. (Chester Higgins Jr./The New York Times)

About artsychicksw

please visit my about.me page at www.about.me/SaraWindsor
This entry was posted in Art, Handmade Jewelry, Inspiration & Quotes, Jewelry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Iris Apfel…an amazing woman and style icon

  1. Love this post. Iris is an amazing gutsy women. I love her style and her way of putting her own signature on things. Thanks for sharing! xok

  2. artsychicksw says:

    Your welcome, Kim. I’ve enjoyed learning about her and you’re right, she’s a very gutsy lady who knows herself well and shows her confidence.

  3. My wardrobe also resides in a warehouse. Well, OK, it’s a storage unit. But it thinks it’s a warehouse, so shhhhhh, let it have its day in the sun.

    I met her once, at one of the intolerable artist/collector/curator/docent/art world celebrity parties I was dragged to since before I was born. Met all kinds of nuts and squirrels, and a few genuinely nice people. I miss my dad a lot but I don’t miss those parties.

  4. artsychicksw says:

    I won’t say a thing to your “warehouse”. I can definitely see where those parties would get very old very quick with all the airs folks put on. Now, a one on one with an artist I admire would be another thing entirely

  5. sheldonk2014 says:

    They were running something one pbs about this woman I was Ted to see it but missed it
    I’ve been doing collage with fashion lately
    Thank you for the like Sara
    Hope all is well
    Sheldon

Leave a Reply

