As Promised…new jewelry created with components from a recent post

I’m having a great time with my new supplies featured in A Bit of a Shopping Spree. Without further ado, here are some of my creations…

ImageImageImage

I call this pair of earrings “Passion” because they are full of feeling and I often relate purple with passion ( or peacefulness, but that didn’t really fit). The vintage brass three-to-one connectors were featured in the Spree post, but the wonderful vintage baroque pearls and the faceted glass beads are also something new I purchased. There are some little fluted purple glass beads on either end of the pearls. The little filigree drops are actually part of a group of goodies I won on the Vintaj blog for a post I made there about the ways I grew by business last year. I was so grateful to win the supplies from Vintaj and Bead Inspirations! I am not going to be putting these earrings on etsy to sell just yet. One of my major business goals this year is to be published in at least one jewelry or creative magazine. It’s not something I’ve tried to do before but I so enjoy browsing through magazines such as Belle Armoire Jewelry and Jewelry Affaire from Stampington or Jewelry Stringing from Beading Daily. I think this pair is one of the best pair of earrings I’ve made yet so they are one of things I’m going to send off with the hopes of being published. It’s a long process, sometimes more than six months or more before you get your pieces returned, but I’ll let you know if I reach my goal. Fingers crossed!

Speaking of earrings….

ImageImage

This lovely little pair use the sweet little garnet beads shown in the Spree post. They also include some of my favorite vintage rhinestone and brass beads, vintage faux pearls with simple fluted bead caps, gorgeous light teal faceted glass bead with antiqued brass filigree bead caps and hand wire wrapped links. They are named On the Balance and can be found in my etsy shop.

Also using one little garnet bead along with one of the magnificent West German vitrail glass beads from the Spree post is this vintage thimble necklace:

ImageImageImage

I always like to give you more than one view since you can’t hold it in your hand and turn it and hold it to the light, etc. You can read all the details about the Hattie necklace in my etsy shop. I must tell you that I had seen a necklace that used a thimble on Pinterest, but the design is all my own.

While this necklace only uses one small item from the goodies I showed you I really love the way it turned out, am proud of it and want to share it with you.

Image

A little sneak peek…This item has been sitting in one of my printers drawers for maybe a couple of years now. I found it at an antique store and fell in love with it but couldn’t quite figure out how to use it. I’d never seen any jewelry quite like it and don’t know really what it was used for because it has a large compartment in it. Maybe for snuff? Or could this be a piece from a chatelaine? Here’s the full view of this component:

ImageImage

Isn’t it gorgeous? This view of the other side with the door that opens shows you a little bit of what I did with it…I’ve had a piece of vintage sheet music that had just the last word of each of four verses…sing, joy, found, love. I adore that together these words gave you a feeling and a story. So, they gave me the concept for this necklace.

Image

Now, for the inside, which I think is the best creative part of the necklace. The sweet little mother of pearl lily with stamen is the piece from my new goodies.

Image

I put the flower with a Czech glass leaf bead, some vintage laces and the hand cut pieces from an antique carte de vista photograph of a young couple. I carefully inked the sides of the heads and gave them a dimesional sealant (unfortunately I didn’t see the bubble on the man’s face before it dried, and I always check for them). The ink color matches the blue in the antique Victorian scrap on the inner side of the hinged lid.

And the finished necklace….

ImageImageImage

It can be worn with the little lace bit above the pendant or not as it is easily removed. Other items used include heishi pearls, semi precious green stone beads, little brass beads, a lovely faceted chunk of Amazonite that I wrapped in wire, recycled sari silk and tiny seed beads. It’s like wearing a love story around your neck! I really can’t decide whether to list this for sale on etsy or save it to send off for possible publishing. If it didn’t have the little bubble I would probably try to have it published. If you have a thought about this I’d appreciate what you have to say.

Another long post…I think I’ll leave it there for today. I’ve created another couple of necklaces that I’m excited to share with you but for now I need to get off the computer. I’ve just recovered from a week in bed due to my chronic pain problems, one of which is Fibromyalgia. I kinda feel like a lost a week of my life because I slept most of it due to muscle relaxants I had to take. If you aren’t familiar with Fibromyalgia please Google it. I’ll try to post more about it at a later time. Many women and men must deal with this chronic pain problem and we try to be very supportive of each other.

Peace to your hearts always,

Sara

About artsychicksw

please visit my about.me page at www.about.me/SaraWindsor
This entry was posted in Art, Handmade Jewelry, Jewelry, Mixed Media Art, Vintage and Antique and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to As Promised…new jewelry created with components from a recent post

  1. Winter Owls says:

    Sarah I like both your pieces but I love the thimble necklace the best. Could you photoshop out the bubble if you wanted to publish it? How annoying! Have you tried photographing your work outside? ( Can be difficult in winter I know) I’ve discovered that my best photos are those I manage to take in natural light with no flash. I hope this was the kind of advice you wanted. 🙂

  2. artsychicksw says:

    That is wonderful advice, however usually when you publish something you send it to the publisher and they take photos. I suppose they could edit out the bubble if they wanted to use the piece, so that gives me encouragement to go ahead and send it in.
    And, yes, I do need to photograph more outside. Sometimes I like the soft light indoors, but there are so many benefits to the outdoors. I just don’t brave it in the winter. You have given me the encouragement to do it more during the nicer weather, though.
    I do appreciate any type of input you have to give! Thanks so much for taking the time to read my post and let me know what you think!
    Peace to your heart, Sara

  3. Beautiful work. There’s a good chance the hollow piece was a perfume amulet. It was common to make perfumed pastes or semi-solids using beeswax and fill a hollow amulet that had a door on hinges and a hanger for a chain.

    • artsychicksw says:

      Soul Survivor,
      Thanks for the input…what a nice idea a perfume amulet is! Much nicer than a snuff container, which I have also seen similar to the one I have used. Thanks for visiting my blog…I’m very behind in posting and hope to get on that soon. I have several things to post about so check back in a week or so if you’d like. I have enjoyed reading your blog and I thank you for sharing. Peace to your heart

  4. sheldonk2014 says:

    Thank you for your like,I see we.are from the same school,l also saw you’ve been looking around,I am now following you talk to you soon
    Sheldon

    • artsychicksw says:

      Sheldon, thanks for checking out my blog and leaving a comment. When you say we’re from the same school are you referring to University of Missouri? Or being a self-taught artisan? I’m not great about writing in my blog, but I am giving new effort to that. Still, you won’t see posts more than 2 or 3 times a month from me. I’m just starting to put a mental health perspective into the blog (purposefully, at least…I have done some in previous posts).
      I would love to see more of your art…is there anywhere else to view it? Or do you plan on posting more photos on your blog?
      While I have been reading your comments on Laura’s blog and feel I know you just a bit, I look forward to getting to know you better through our blogs and conversations. Peace to your heart

Leave a Reply

