A Way to Help Women Around the World with Creativity

truth-exchange-logo-w-fce

A while back I found a wonderful place on the web called “Brave Girls Club”. It is the love child of a couple of sisters that live out west…a combination of inspiration and creativity. I love to receive their emails and Facebook posts because they are always filled with wise words I need to hear and beautiful artwork. They also host camps and do many other things. They have now offered a way to pass along wise words and creativity to women around the world who are in such need of this. Please keep reading…

“Every day we hear the stories of trials and horrific circumstances faced by women in our own countries and in far away places. Whether these sisters are victims of natural or man-made disasters or even victims of human trafficking, our tender hearts go out to them and we often wish there was something, anything, we could do to help. You know the feeling, right? We ache for them to be set free from their pain, whatever pain that is. In the worst cases, we ache for them to be set free from the situations and beliefs that oppress them…..but often it seems there is nothing we can really do to make a difference.

What if there really was a way to help? What if there was a way to let them know that they are loved…that we are thinking of them, and that they are not alone.” Brave Girls Club website

The way to help is so very easy and won’t take much of your time if you’d like to join myself and other Brave Girls in this outreach. And if you are the creative type you will so enjoy participating. They are reaching out through artist’s trading cards (ATCs) they are calling Truth Cards. If you aren’t familiar with these they are explained in the BGC posting, so never fear. Here is a link with all of the information you will need if you’d like to help. Brave Girls Club Truth Cards Post     If you aren’t the most creative person you can still make some cards…the Brave Girls have provided printable words and images that you can cut out and put together. If you aren’t able to help this first time (there isn’t much time left) then they will be doing many more over time so you can sign up for their newsletter or friend their Facebook page.

I was so happy to learn that there is something I can do to help women that are so in need. When I read or hear about women who have been  forced into human trafficking, slavery, are in abusive situations, etc my heart just weeps for them and I want to be able to take action. Receiving a card may not change a life, but it can warm a heart, help someone feel like they aren’t alone, provide inspirational words to keep them going or help them know someone does care about them. So, I got right on it and made some Truth Cards. I decided to make six this first time…when preparing backgrounds for cards it is sometimes easier to do several at one time rather than doing them one by one. I kept most in the same color and aesthetic using some wonderful watercolors my artist daughter has. Here are some photos:

My first round of Truth Cards which are going to the Phillipines

My first round of Truth Cards which are going to the Phillipines

Trust Youself

Trust Youself

Life more beautiful

Life more beautiful

Not alone

Not alone

So brave

So brave

Gentle with yourself

Gentle with yourself

Pure love

Pure love

Reverse side with messages

Reverse side with messages

I so enjoyed making the Truth Cards. Most of my creative time is spent making my jewelry…I am not complaining, because I love creating jewelry out of old bits and pieces. However, I do miss getting messy with papers and pictures and words to create a mixed media piece. So I had a joyous time making them. Then I prayed over each card that it would get to the woman who most needed to hear the message on it, that her life would be blessed and improved, that God’s will be done in her life. I am so grateful for the opportunity to take part in this effort.

Peace to your hearts,  Sara

About artsychicksw

please visit my about.me page at www.about.me/SaraWindsor
This entry was posted in Art, Events, Inspiration & Quotes, Mixed Media Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Way to Help Women Around the World with Creativity

  1. Very nice indeed Sara. A little kindness goes a long way and we are rewarded 1000 times over in our hearts. xok

  2. Winter Owls says:

    Beautiful Sara and what a wonderful idea Brave Girls club is. It’s so important for people not to feel alone.

  3. artsychicksw says:

    Thanks so much. Yes, Brave Girls Club really helps in feeling connected to other women especially when they share words and ideas that I recognize as my own as well as theirs. I do hope that the women who received all the Truth cards fell connected to us through them.

Leave a Reply

