Art Journaling

I am a huge proponent of journaling in any form, and particularly of art journaling. At difficult times in our lives we sometimes don’t have words to express what is going on inside or to work through it, but drawing or collage making allows us to express in pictures what we can’t in words. No need to be creative or an artist, either. It’s just for you, after all. Peace to your hearts

the tiny hobo

Art journaling became very important to me a little over 2 years ago when I became very depressed. The thought of creating art, let alone getting out of bed in the morning, was physically and mentally overwhelming. While those were some of the worst days of my life, I’m really thankful for them because in the depths of that sadness I learned a lot about myself as an artist.

I literally could not even handle looking at a blank piece of copy paper. To me, it looked gigantic, empty, and void of all hope. But I didn’t know what else to do; art was all I had and I knew I had to do it no matter what.

So, I decided to work smaller. I bought myself a little 4×6 notebook, something that could fit in my purse, under my pillow, in my car, or anywhere else I might need it…

View original post 422 more words

About artsychicksw

please visit my about.me page at www.about.me/SaraWindsor
This entry was posted in Art, Art Journals, Inspiration & Quotes, Mixed Media Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

